May 19, 2001

  • I was almost lost in a daydream


    ...until I realized that I had just completed running the equivalent of the circumference of the Earth.  Roughly 25,000 miles (actually 24,901.55 miles at the equator), it probably took me, over 20 years, about 3333 hours or the equivalent of about 20 straight weeks.  That's also comparable to running more than 3 1/2 times around the moon.  So what's next?  Drinking the equivalent of the Bay of Pigs in beer? Oh no, no no!  But speaking of which...


    I went to a bar after work last night for a couple of beers during happy hour.  There, a girl who is a good friend of the girlfriend of a good buddy of mine, approached me rather spiritedly and directly. I offered to buy her a drink, she accepted and then she sat down for a chat.  Or so I thought.  Actually, within just a couple of minutes, she unloaded upon me the announcement that she had just left her brutalizing crack-smoking husband....and then, she asked me to go see Peter Frampton at a concert this summer, explaining to me that she had loge seats, and wanted my buddy, his girlfriend, and the two of us to go together.


    Peter Frampton?  Who's he?  Should I go?  Such thoughts besieged me as I considered running back around the equivalent of the world in the other direction so as to get back home.  I must admit that this girl with her body oozing of passion and her avant-garde approach caught me, I think, just staring at her--and she laughed!  Ah, the loosening of doom of my premonition in my previous post she must be.  Now what did e.e.cummings say about all this? ...oh, yes, "You and I wear the dangerous looseness of doom and find it becoming. Life, for eternal us, is now; and now is much too busy being a little more than everything to seem anything, catastrophic included."

Comments (247)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days