Day: May 20, 2001

  • Looseness 0f Doom = Fruit of the Loom


    What a day!  Ran down to the beach in fine form.  Took in the sun and gave passing glances to the girls sunning on the sand.  Then ran back home and slaughtered weeds in my yard that were taller than me!! 


    I thought I was back in the herbal-breeding tropics momentarily--with these towering sun-worshipping earth grazers jolly-greening all around me.  How did they get so secretly huge??!!  Oh forgive me, wasn't it I who once lambasted the pitiful puniness of the "lawnmower men" in their mindless extermination of wildflowers and weeds??!!  Now I am them, chop, chop, (oh where is my trusty machete??) and yes, the lawnmower (vroom) to finish them off.  Well, to their credit, the weeds finished the lawnmower, too, as it lost a back wheel in that killing-field process and now rides like a gimpy trike! 


    Of course, weeding is just a metaphor for societal compliance to notions of  orderliness and deconstructed beauty.  However, it  also provides me a cover for getting close to the earth and smearing myself with a personal coating of that fulsome, fungible grime which someday, quite imaginably, shall cover me more deeply and eternally beyond time.  If the earth is my makeup, then eternity's reap is my lover. 


    But not tonight!  I feel very much too much in love with life and have decided to take a luxuriant shower instead!!

  • Heavens to Murgatroyd


    I just finished running eight more miles under a gorgeous Midwestern sun.  That's 25,000 - 8 = only 24,992 miles until I get back home.


    I wonder if the tiger on my tail will go the distance??

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days