Day: May 4, 2001

  • notforPeeps is my new portal on Xanga.

    It is my entire subscriber base randomized for an ineluctable blogging tour.

    I've never had a "Subscriber Day" or acknowledged my tremendous base of subscribers in any way in my posts. *Remiss! Boo! Hiss!*  Okay, okay, I know! But when I began seriously contemplating some form of compensatory commemoration last month, I found myself overwhelmed by the sheer numbers I was up against (up against??!! these are your subscribers, foo!!)--approaching 300 now--and I went "WOW." What could I do that wouldn't be overkill--like listing everyone's name in a single massive post, or creating an unwieldy 15x20 spreadsheet matrix??? I didn't want to honor my subscribers just to have everyone lost in a crowd!

    After toying with various presentation javascripts this past month, today I hit on it!!  I could create a whole new blog dedicated only to my subscribers, which would not only honor them, but make them more available and visible to me on an everyday basis! So what I have devised is a redirect of my subscribers' blog, notforPeeps, to a randomized selection of my subscribers themselves!


    Try it out: click here and see notforPeeps take you to a random one of my subscribers. Then hit your Back button (not Refresh) and go randomly to yet another subscriber. Then again and again! This is great since every time now when I dialup the internet, I'll come upon one of my subscribers first (as my portal browser home), instead of my own site or the Xanga front end!   And if I want to browse Xanga in a casual fashion without being steered by the Featured Content or the Newly Updated, notforPeeps once again!

    Thank you all for being my subscribers, readers, and friends!


    P.S.  I've been using this resource for the past half day and am really enjoying it.  Of course, I'm finding that to keep it a truly living resource, I will need to weed it of "subscribers" who have formally forever left Xanga.


    Naturally, too, the consideration for creating a number of other randomly redirected blogs comes to mind: Random access to notforSites (Sites I Read), notforFun (typically humorous sites), notforFriends (close friends--a subset of Sites I read) notforCreeps (creeps and potential enemies--not to support but merely watch out for!), noforChicks (ah! now that's a good one! oops...I let it out...I'd better stop here!)....Well, you get the idea.  And then one could make hyperlink buttons and put them, let's say, in the header (banner area) or footer (site meter area) of one's home site and thus available for ready access OR (thanks to kittle for the notion) actually make these blogs your Sites I Read (replacing individual listings)!!!

  • Waking Thoughts 

    Buddha was made flesh, and dwelt among us.

    I smell the sun rising.  I hear gravity churning....And I see the echoes of today about to hug my laughter! I'm potentially foul enough to be a lord of darkness, but would rather play with the butterflies!

    What magic is coffee that brings such words to mind?  Or is coffee just the nickel used to scratch  the mind's instant lottery ticket?  Rephrased: Or is coffee just the nickel bag?  Is caffeine not illegal?   If caffeine were not such a perfect adjunct to our work-a-day world, they would surely make it illeagal.  An lleagal beagle!

    *man is standing next to dog, another man approaches*
    "Does your dog bite?"
    "No."
    *approaching man pets dog*
    *dog bites*
    *ouch! *
    "I thought you said your dog doesn't bite!"
    "Sir, that  is not my dog.

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days