Day: May 13, 2001

  • It Wouldn't Have Been Make-Believe...


    It is after work and I've returned to my vehicle on the top floor of the parking garage at 12th near Lakeside. I always park the top floor because of the scenic view north over the downtown airport and the shores of Lake Erie itself. So it is nearly sunset and--no, I can't feel the sand, or hear the waves, or gather in the scent of raw water, or skip rocks. But I can sit in my truck and take in the impressionistic surcease of sun-light on the lake. Sitting watching the day pleasure away and the shadows dream themselves into reality.


    Oh, yes…I'm writing offline on my laptop while doing a brew or two (yeah, sitting in the vehicle drinking, even though parked alone and just enjoying the scene, is probably formally DUI.... But if our president (GWB) boasts some similar episode amidst so many sparkling credentials, why not follow the lead??...anyways...)


    So I was expecting a buddy to call me on my cell after work, but it looks like that isn't going to happen. Would have met at a bar and discoursed about all and such (shoes and ships and sealing wax and cabbages and kings and why the sea is boiling hot and whether pigs have wings or merely babes barhopping heavenly about) and even more.  But not tonight, it seems!


    So now I've a decision to make: venture forth alone to drink and/or socialize or retire to some location and shroud myself in economics, statistics and academia. Sounds like any easy decision, right? ...academia! Sure...might as well make muddy dirt soup and use worms for noodles, the prospects for delectability and enjoyment that holds. But, I guess, the point is that it ain't meant as enjoyment at all, but has everything to do with accumulating capital, and battering at intellectual scarcity, and providing more intellectual and economic choice. Like a genie in a bottle that you have found along the way--informing you have three wishes. But you figure if you theorize, economize, amortize, but regardless all else, invest, you'll have more than three wishes since $wishe$ will already be drawing interest.


    Well, then I'd blow my three wishes right now for sure!  I'd wish: 1) that the genie would transform himself/herself into a mermaid so that I could behold such imagined mythic beauty, 2) that the mermaid would transform herself into a stunning ancient cleopatran princess so I could lament the inconsistency of time and fate that makes somethings in this world too early and other things too late, and 3) that the princess would transform herself back into the genie so as not to deny the genie his/her own due destiny. Yep, that blows the wishes…for SURE!  Clearly, at the moment, I deem myself rebellious.  Hence, academia sucks.  Think I'll venture yonder instead...I can ride...yes, Willow, we can still ride !!!

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days