Day: May 9, 2001

  • Revamping


    Hey, John Steinbeck, my author-hero!


    Looking back over his novels, I remember reading one of my first and my favorite of his, Cannery Row, holed up in a hotel in Washington, D.C. years ago.  It was weird, it was cool: I just traveled to D.C., got accommodations in a fairly expensive downtown hotel room for a few days, read several of his books, and then left town!!


    Apparently, that experience, and the book Cannery Row in particular, left an indelible impression upon me that I have only now realized: I grew up to be a lot like the "Doc" of the Row!  Yes, from a very young age I wanted to be a scientist--now fancy this blogger that! 


    But I know what you're thinking: *a scientist--nfp?--he's too surreal* *psychic mumbo*  *tripped-out acid flashback attack* *get out of here! the man's whacked on words!*


    But I did fulfill my dream...


    "Sediment Mixing by Lampsilis radiata siliquoidea (Mollusca) from Western Lake Erie," with P.L. McCall and M.S. Tevesz. Journal of Great Lakes Research, V.5, pp. 105-111 (1979).


    "Identification of Monosaccharides in Hydrolyzed Nautilus Shell Insoluble Matrix by Gas Chromotography/Mass Spectrometry," with M.S. Tevesz, B.A. Smith, D.G. Hehemann, R.W. Binkley, and J.G. Carter. The Veliger. V. 35, pp 381-183 (1992).


    "Identification of Monosaccharides in Hydrolyzed Bivalve Shell Insoluble Matrix," with R.W. Binkley, M.S. Tevesz, T.E. Hionidou, P.L. McCall, and J.G. Carter. The Veliger. V. 37, pp 410-413 (1994)


    "Organic Matrix Composition of Modern and 8.7K BP Mya truncata (Mollusca: Bivalvia) from Arctic Canada," with M.J. Risk, M.S. Tevesz, and C.D. Karr. Kirtlandia, No. 49, pp. 15-20 (1996).


    "Seasonal Variation in Oxygen Isotopic Composition of Two Freshwater Bivalves: Sphaerium striatinum and Anodonta grandis," with M.S. Tevesz and E. Barrera. Journal of Great Lakes Research, 22(4):906-916. (1996).


    ...before blogging made me stupid again.


    Yes, I am blaming Xanging
    For my intellectual demise!
    Yet like a phoenix I shall rise,
    From burnt ashes
    To take wing and soar.
    So expect my tone to change:
    I'll still blog--but as a fool--inverted?
    Nevermore.


    P.S. I added the word *inverted* above after first posting this, since in recalling my interpretation of the Tarot deck--as my memory was jogged by styxx374 and miss_tori in the Comments, this is what I truly meant!


    The Fool upturned can admonish that a decision may be foolish, too profligate, and that there is a peril in taking chances too casually.  So this card doesn’t mean  'do whatever, just as it arises'.  Though such spontaneity might seem to lead to an entertaining life, eventually--most likely--it becomes unsustainable.  Rather, it is about remaining available to one’s inner voice or as the taoist Chuang Tzu said “choosing this and letting go of that.”


Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days