June 25, 2003

  • I’m still recuperating from a cold-type bug, but on the offensive.  Although is was hotter today (90 or +) and more humid than yesterday, I ran the same distance but with less stress and anguish.  Perhaps I ran slower, but then again, perhaps I’m on the mend.


    Some of you may wonder why I run in the cemetery.  Oh, there are many reasons.  It’s gorgeous here.  It’s less dangerous than running on the streets.  And there’s the desirable solitude and sometimes the inspiration afterwards to write, if so moved.  But another reason I often end up here is that I fail to get connected-up in the world of the living on a daily basis.  The contacts, the friends, the relationships I so often seek just never quite materialize.  So failing to keep my high amongst the living, I plan-b to cultivate a high amongst the dead.


    A ‘high’ you wonder?  What constitutes a ‘high’ amongst the dead? 


    Well, one gets high with the dead by getting lower than almost all the living—without dying!  Call it a state of mind that’s one notch above the hereafter.  The critical aspect of such low-dom is that it always changes you.  Always.  If only by a nudge.  But it makes you better.  It prepares you, as so many native Indian warriors prepared themselves for, to die a good death.


    So perhaps I will someday die the good death!


    Meanwhile, here’s a cemetery-fresh thought:  What if the only bodily pleasure/satisfaction that the dead miss,  once separated from the flesh, is the satisfaction of farting? 


    Make sure while you’re still alive to fart the good fart.

Comments (251)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

June 2003
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30