September 22, 2001

  • Huge car crash today.  Around 2:10 EST.


    Van in front of me slams brakes on and stops.


    I respond likewise within inches of his back bumper.   Whew.


    Pickup behind me isn't paying attention and slams into the rear of my SUV showering me with my rear window glass.


    My car gets pushed into the maroon van ahead.


    I'm not angry, just shocked.


    The van ahead keeps going a little while, pulls over to the side of the road, and then speeds away!  What the fuck?! It being clearly not his fault, I think maybe the driver had no license, or it was a stolen vehicle, or they were too fucked up on drugs or...maybe it was a terrorist fleeing detection.


    I estimate the damage to my vehicle at around $8500, though I think that is possibly too low.  The amazing thing though is that it is still drivable.  So until I get it repaired, just driving a wreck.


    The funny thing is, that this wreck was actually a change in my fortune for the better today.  You don't even want to know how hellbent the day was prior to that.  So though it may seem like near tragedy, actually I was relieved that it happened.


    It  gave me an opportunity to stop. 

Comments (323)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

September 2001
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930