Day: September 17, 2001

  • the psychic confession a terrorist


    nfp: "What was going through your minds as you crashed into those buildings on 9-11?"


    terrorist: "Practically nothing...except that... 'we are falling back to Earth.'  You saw us flying 'into' but we only felt ourselves 'falling'...."


    nfp:  "Why did you go after the Pentagon instead of the White House?"


    terrorist:  "We missed the White House.  We couldn't recognize it immediately from the air, couldn't pick it up.  So we opted for our first secondary target instead--an unmistakeable one."


    nfp: "Why the lag of 18 minutes or so in crashing into the second of the twin WTC towers?  Was this, as some speculate, to insure that the media had ample coverage?"


    terrorist:  "That was mildly upsetting to us.  We intended near simultaneity.  That would have led to a much greater disaster in loss of life and would have been, if conceivable to your mind, even more psycho-terrorizing in terms of its precision.  But it was pretty much a toss-up: more lives or media coverage."


    nfp:  "Was there supposed to be a second wave of attacks?  Or has our security now shut you down?"


    terrorist:  "Surprise and timing are so critical to us.  We have lost surprise to some degree for now, but if we could, we'd plan the next wave of attacks to coincide with the re-opening of your financial markets.  After all, they are just soft, delicious pussies waiting to be raped, more than willing to spiral into blind hysteria.  If we could, we plan new waves with each and every re-opening and re-opening and re-opening of your markets until your government would relent and indefinitely shut them down.  If we could..."


    nfp: "Do you have anything else to confess?"


    terrorist: "How the fuck did you get into my mind?"

  • The lighter side of my week past...


    I was blogging last Sunday from Lakeview Cemetery on a gorgeous sunny 80 degree late afternoon only to learn around 6 PM that the cemetery had reverted to its regular closing hours of 5:30 PM--instead of at dusk, at it had been all summer long.


    So there I was driving around hundreds of acres of hills and trees and graves seeking a breach in the perimeter--but I couldn't find one.  What I did find shortly, however, was that I was not alone.  There were at least four other cars also locked in, two of which joined my frantic convoy.


    Actually, one of the drivers of those two cars was rather interesting.  A senior at the Cleveland Institute of Art, she like me, was taking the lockup pretty much in stride.  In fact, I joked that if we couldn't find a way out, I'd order a pizza delivery and beer-delivery that could be delivered to the front wrought iron gates and handed through to us.  She chuckled at the idea which actually got me hoping maybe that we wouldn't find a way out!


    But leave it to me.  I sniffed out a caretaker in a remote corner of the cemetery where I had never explored before.  The house was actually in the cemetery and the caretaker appeared roused by my insistent knocking.  After explaining the situation to him, he said he'd meet us at the gate.  So we all got back in our cars and waited at the gate...and waited...and waited.  I joked with the Kim, the art student, that when the authorities would find us in the morning, we'd tell them about the caretaker who never came around and they'd tell us that we must have been mistaken because that house we were at hadn't been occupied for the past 25 years when the then current caretaker violently ended his own life one night! 


    Damn that caretaker though because he did show up!  And let my newfound cemetery buddy escape through the open gate!!


    Also...


    I met an actress.  Well, fledging actress, at least.  Her name is Jubilee and, according to her, she's going to appear in a pilot premiering tomorrow night on NBC at 10 EST called Crossing Jordan. This girl is hot!  So hot that the part she plays in the pilot is a "dead girl" named Clarrisa!  So I'm going to let my Stats class Monday night out just a little early so I can run home and watch this rising starlet appear in her first cameo role on TV!  ...Providing it isn't pre-empted.


    Also...


    We have a travel expense database at my workplace called "T&E" for Travel and Expenses.  I happened to mistakenly refer to it at "Travel and Entertainment" and ended up the butt of several workplace jokes for a short while...   

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

September 2001
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930