September 15, 2001

  • It's funny how some of those late to work at the World Trade Center on 9-11 were the ones to survive.  One fellow, who was late, was halfway up one of the towers to his office at the top when the destruction hit. He stopped his upward ascent, got out, got down, and is the only known employee of his office to have survived.


    It's sad but true that being late for work or leaving early from work from a potential terrorist's target can now be considered a survival strategy.  Just staying away from crowds can be considered the same.  And taking private transportation--your car or a private plane--rather than public transportation--busses, subways, trains, commerical planes--now becomes a counter-terrorist advantage, too.  Likewise, "working from home" when possible via PC and the internet has now become a much more attractive proposition than harkening to the office in a potential target in a major metropolitan arena.


    I,for one, will not be later or leave work earlier than I have before (okay, so I still have an advantage seeing that my past track record on tardiness is less than perfect ).  Nor will I avoid crowds, let's say at a baseball game or amusement park, just to be safe.  I will continue to drive my truck to work only because I almost never know exactly where my next destination after work will be until sometime around midday.  But if I could "work from home"...oh yeah, baby!

Comments (232)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

September 2001
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930