July 18, 2001

  • To phrase (or paraphrase) Rumi: “Life is like a cup upon the ocean...soon it will fill and sink and not one bubble will remain where it has subsided.” 


    Yes...not one bubble will remain, but the ocean will never cease to froth with effervescent bubbles and resurgent foam.  Then, too, the cup which sinks becomes full and remains full--the truly full-filled state of any container.  And possibly, no probably, that sunken container will become a shell, a shelter, a refuge for other forms of journeying life. 


    But I don't want a hermit crab living in my favorite beer mug...yet.  So embracing bouyancy and sucking on that big bubble of air in my chest called breath, I'll float awhile.  Thank you.  But not one bubble of carbonation will remain in my beer mug when I'm done with it!  I say: Rumi, come drink with me, and let's kick ass!

Comments (826)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days