Day: January 22, 2002

  • Hey guys,


    It appears the Xanga-wide and site specific search engine is broken--at least for me!  God help me:





    Oh my God!  I swear I didn't do it!


    Can anyone concur??


    What's worse...


    My blogs before July 1st 2001 are ALL missing.  Every one of them.  In my calendar module, all is blank from June 2001 back through my start in December 2000.  And if I go back to my July 1st entries, there is not *Next 5>>* hyperlink to carry me anywhere.


    Ack!!!  Now call me paranoid for wanting a horizontal (non-Xangan, i.e., LiveJournal) blog to copy my old posts to.  I discovered my missing blogs BECAUSE I was about to do exactly that!


    7 P.M Update:  No WAIT WAIT----the blogs are missing only if I'm logged in as *Private*.


    If I'm looking at my posts from *Public Preview*, they are still there.  Whew!  But how strange, nonetheless!


    7:40 P.M. Continuing Update: Now it appears that the blogs are back even unto my *Private* view.  But I'm not crazy!  I took pics.  Here's how my private calendar looked about an hour ago (white dates indicate no posts!)



    And here's how it looks now (blue dates indicate the existence of posts):



    8:25 P.M. Continuing Update:


    It's back to the blank June calendar (first one) once again!


    8:30 P.M. Continuing (and Final!) Update:


    I have finally determined that when my *Private* view calendar entries prior to July 2001 are missing, that they are also missing from the *Public* (your) view.


    Moreover, all of your (well, at least the 5 random bloggers that I sampled) pre-July 2001 posts are then concurrently missing too.


    So it appears to be an on-again/off-again disappearing trick affecting us all. Voila! Now you see us, now you don't.

  • Xanga's days are numbered!


    That's right: one more day left for half-price Premium membership. 


    Then what?  Simply full-priced membership? Or will the Xangods publicly reassess their finances?  Are Xanga's days really numbered??


    I'd rather think not and have actually turned off my psychic-junkie read on this matter.  I prefer not to speculate at all...


    But...the terrorist catastrophe of 9-11 has instilled in me an awakening consideration in all endeavors: contingency, contingency, contingency!


    So as you can see above in the header (that is, if your browser is current; if not, you probably see nothing or just blank space), I've gone horizontal...just in case.


    But for now, I envision all my current blog-writing energy to remain devoted to Xanga.  I think that I'll use one and/or the other blogs above to re-post old Xanga blogs--maybe even my exact "one year ago" entries in one and curious, other, dated entries in the other.  Then, eventually, all my Xanga posts will have a contingent web presence.


    But what if the Internet itself (the soon-to-be World Wireless Web, as a la Al Gore, I have annointed it ) has its days numbered too??


    omg, omg,
    contingencies, and more contingencies!
    must get to work post haste...
    for i'm late, i'm late,
    for a very important date--
    no time to say *hello* -- goodbye!
    ...i'm late, i'm late, i'm late...

  • It seems like I have morphed into Everyman.


    Is Xanga getting weird?


    Or are there more drugs in my food than I previously suspected?


    Listen to teeking:


    Have any of you been getting someone else's background on your blog?  I have...three times now.  Just a few minutes ago, my screen was filled with my text, yet the background was filled with someone else's picture (like a film negative), with the words, "been through enough" on the picture.  Do I need to email Xanga?  Do I try to find the person who had their pic plastered all over my page here?  Help!!!  After refreshing the page, their background was gone, but mine was blank...white, with a bunch of floating red x's where flowers should be.  Weird.


    Have you ever woken up in someone else's dream?

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

January 2002
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031