August 15, 2001

  • Missorted Xanga logistics:


    1)  It can't be, can it?  Yes!  In some shape, juxtaposition, or incarnation, Bianca survives:


    From destini's site (she joined today):


    destini's Xanga Site Hey, welcome to my site.  I just started it so if it sucks, I'm sorry.  I just heard about using weblogs from this girl named Bianca who e-mailed me saying she liked my my Doors tribute page.  And she said that she was noticing my writing style and that the weblog format might work really well for me.  So.....here I am!!!!  Well, I guess that's it for now. 


    2)  I just finished an informal survey for gender of 75 random blogs published today.  47 female, 23 male, 5 ambiguous or unstated.  So nearly 2:1 female to male. Nearly a half year ago, when Xanga still provided the search opportunity (see #3 below), I was able to conduct a more extensive survery that provided essentially the same demographic breakout: 233 female, 116 male--essentially 2:1 .  I'm not sure what this means, except it may be corroboration of Don Juan's claim (in the Carlos Castaneda books) that although the genders seem balanced upon earth, throughout most of the rest of the universe, entities were decidely and pervasively, for the most part, feminine.  Don Juan considered malehood to be some kind of freak status vis-a-vis the universe.  Mwahahahaha!!


    3) Somewhere along the way, the "Find Members Like You!" search engine got hammered.  It can still find the "first 25" members by whatever filter (e.g., "gender", "age", etc.), but the "Next 25" hyperlink just returns an "Oops!"  I guess the "Oops!" is supposed to be cute enough to dissuade me from being pissed.  I mean, I would really like to know more than just the first 25 (most recent published) Xangaroos from my state.  And I wrote the XangaTeam on this--and never got a reply!  But who the hell am I anyway??!!  (Hint: think *hacker* , XangaTeam, believe that I'm deranged enough to start thinking like a *hacker*).


    4) In the Premium tools, there is this non-functional tool called "Edit Time Stamp" which proclaims "This feature is coming soon!"  What feature?  What is it supposed to do?  Allow you to change all the dates and times of submission?  To what end?  I really don't see a point to it--but since it is there, I want it!  More tools!  More toys! More features!


    %) *lights out* ... *lights back on* I just closed my eyes at work and dreamed for five minutes of eternity.  It's funny how blessings perforate even the most dreadful of routines.

Comments (178)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

August 2001
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031