Day: August 20, 2001

  • I've a dream... 



    I'm going to build a huge radio telescope



    and broadcast my blogs as binary code to the heavens someday



    so that any intelligent life elsewhere intercepting them



    will *shudder* in terror and stay away!!


    P.E.T.I


    The Prevention of ExtraTerrestial Investigations


    *catches breath*


    [Updated at 4:20 P.M.]


    You know Cheri_Herald figured this out!!  There was a secret strategy to this, a twist of negative psychology...but listen to her:


    Oh no, no, nooooooooooooo---They'd have to check you out!


    Posted 8/20/2001 at 4:00 pm


    Damn straight, hon!  So now that it's out, here's what I was really thinking:


    So what am I up against??


    In 1961, Dr. Frank Drake, an astronomer who is a member of the Advisory Board of the SETI League, developed an equation for calculating the number of extraterrestial civilizations:



    According to Drake's Equation, there are about 10,000 technologically advanced, communicative civilizations in the Milky Way, our galaxy.


    So why can't we/they (SETI) find any?


    Are we that inept in reaching out?


    Why are the years of massively-arrayed searching and searching so entirely unrecompensed??


    Because Dr. Drake was wrong!  There are currently only 9,999 such advanced communicative civilizations in our galaxy—discounting us!!


    I mean, what the hell kind of message are we sending them anyway?  Counts on digital fingers up to ten?  A digitized rendition of the Pythagorean theorem??  Hey baby, school’s out forever in the rest of the universe—they’re all hiding out from us because they know Earth 101 (Room: 3rd planet from Sol) sucks!!!


    That’s why I feel the sun has set on SETI
    And I just want to get PETI
    Cause I figure that YETI
    and his distant kith and kin
    Will dig a real fellow-motherfucker
    And just decide to BLOG on in!!


    So what I really want to say is:  Aliens Here Welcomed!


    (after all, they couldn’t be much stranger than all the rest of you! )

  • There is nothing worse for mortal men than wandering.
             --The Odyssey


    I haven’t fallen asleep but I have awoken.
    And find myself a stranger here.
    This land of vertical time
    With nothing before and nothing behind.
    And nothing to do
    But add the zeros
    Here jettisoned about
    As numerous as the carcasses
    Of insects drought-stricken
    And desiccated by the sun.
    So I count them
    One by one by one…
    And though they’re adding up to nothing
    They’re tallying to infinity.
    So I’m encasing each one
    In its own little glass block
    And building a staircase
    To the stars.

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

August 2001
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031