Day: February 2, 2006

  • Could it be I’m too hung-up on hooking-up? 


     


    Maybe the best I can expect is to just be ‘Friends’?


     


    I’ve never done the Xanga Meet-up thing even though I was the first one outside of the Xanga inner-circle responsible for spurring it on.


     


    Nonetheless, by my reckoning, over the past 5 years  I’ve hooked-up person-to-person with 14 xangans, hooked-up by phone with another 7, and chatted with scores of others (mostly via my BlogChat app that I hosted on Xanga a couple of years ago).


     


    Would Xanga chat be smack?  Of something of interest to you? 


     


    I mentioned my Xanga BlogChat to wutuwaitn4 about a week ago and told him I’d explore the possibility of resurrecting it.  He was greatly interested because he wanted to discuss the history of Xanga in more depth with this xangarelic.  Haven't done that yet, but still might.  But it’d take a little research and some time and the effort.  Oh my.


     


    Now I’m curious: what other social networking features that Xanga currently lacks would be of interest to you ?


     


    Biz Stone, a former co-founder of Xanga who’s moved on, has recently proposed a novel idea for network socializing:  


     


    Open, Social, Email


    Here's a crazy idea. What if someone created a web-based email application that removed all expectations of privacy? In other words, you just email as you normally would except that it's all out there in the public; exposed. People using this service would most likely self-edit, I'll admit that.


     


    Yeah, he’s whacky.  But blogging, too, was a whacky idea ten years ago. 


     


    So Xanga, what’s new?

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

February 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728