November 9, 2001

  • Doctor, heal thyself!


    Since the Sep 11 outrage, probably not as a coincidence but as a correlative, my blood pressure has been out of (my) sight. Where normally I had registered at 115 over 75 with a pulse of 52, I found myself pegged at a near constant 170 over 100 with a pulse of 75. So, of course, I was damned concerned. Did I see a doctor? No. And the reason why is because a voice inside me said heal thyself…relax…and heal.


    So this week I decided seriously to heed that voice and severely curtailed my blogging and online chatting in order to get more sleep. Where I had typically stayed up before to 2 or 3 in the morning while turning it around to get up again at 6:30 in the a.m., I started going to bed early…oh pleasant rest!


    Also, and this may seem contraindicated physiologically, I’ve been making a little ritual out of drinking more than I need to just satisfy a thirst. Yes, alcohol will somewhat elevate the bp (and diminish one’s sexual prowess) but, I figured, that if at the root of the budding hypertension was a need to diminish stress and just relax, a few shots, a few more shots, a few more shots…might help.


    And apparently, my indulgences were just what the doctor ordered. Cause last night, my bp was back down to 136 over 84 with a pulse of 58. So I guess yet more sleep and a few more strategically-enjoyed drinks should set me right soon. Self-pampering-now that’s a new concept to me LOL


    Rx: Red Headed Stepchild: 1 shot Jagermeister dropped into a glass of Red Bull-tastes just like Cherokee Red soda!!! Get to bed by 11 PM.

Comments (479)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

November 2001
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930