March 28, 2001

  • I've been doing it again…merging my mind into the Matrix…trying to figure it all out. Here's something that I've found:

    Xanga has a new neighbor, just in infancy, but apparently not stillborn: Blogfinder.com. Curiously, it's IP address of http://208.185.86.202/ is directly adjacent to two IP addresses of Xanaga.com (http://208.185.86.200/ and http://208.185.86.201/).

    But this is no coincidence, at all.

    In fact, Blog Finder is a web project of Biz Stone-Xanga's self-defining Genius (described by webreview.com thusly:" It is rumored that Biz is a little different and perhaps a bit off, but we don't dwell on it. Artist, writer, and otherwise expressive individual, Biz Stone is currently the creative director of Xanga.com, Inc. in New York City. There is no action figure of Biz yet, but if there is, it will be announced at www.bizstone.com.")

    In the About Blogfinder description, Biz mentions the assistance of Dan and John, by my reckoning, two other apparent Xangan patriarchs.

    And in the Questions That Are Frequently Asked section, Biz reveals:

    Question: "How can you afford to provide this cool free service?
    We can't! What I did was call up the company I work for, put on my best Jack Nicholson voice and said, 'Ya know... I am a reaaaal Genius. Give me and my friend some servers, no questions asked.' They fell for it!"

    …sequential IP address, Biz-creative director of Xanga, Inc., "the company I work"…hrmm…is this the alpha stage of a Xangan search engine? !!

    And does the pronouncement of "They fell for it!" also underpin this great Xangan enterprise?

    I've submitted my blog and am awaiting the visit of the Blogfinder robots. Hopefully, they won't get over anxious and *munch* my posts!

    ...all very nice, I suppose...but I wanna spillchucker, spoilchocker, spellchecker !

    But I ask you: How much, for how long, for so free?

    Soon coming to a blog near you: Xanga Pro and Xanga (Lite) Levity!


Comments (187)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

March 2001
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031