March 21, 2001

  • Sympathy Overload

    I've gotten 5 "collect call" attempts-which I've refused-at the office in the last two days from a girl who is obviously in trouble again. You see, every time she lands in jail she calls me to bail her out. I did that once a couple of years ago, in a moment of sympathy, and didn't get burnt. I also, from time to time, have sent her a few goodwill bundles of assistance such as allowable food and toiletries, especially around the holidays. I even visited her in jail twice because she cried of loneliness. But we weren't then and aren't now even friends. Yet every time she's picked up (drugs), she pretends like I'm her *only friend*-or worse yet-that she's my *jailed lover-to-be* . Can you imagine that? Well, I see it now for what it is: a blatant hustle, a calculated jostle directed against me and arising from her nasty desperation, and nothing more. Oh yes, *friend-lover* …until they open up the jail door. Then she could care less until things catch up with her again and she becomes, once more, my *penitentiary friend*. Not this time, babe. My affinity for such squalor has been dealt a mortal blow.

Comments (190)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

March 2001
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031