Day: January 10, 2007

  • I have always considered the following to be e.e.cumming's most simply expressed, richly-imaged, and starkly-beautiful poem.

    I guess I'm mostly posting this for me: to get myself back into a poetry-writing mood.  I used to write and post poems here, you know.  But it's been a good, long time since the last one.

    You see, it works like this:  When I see a moving, living poem (of another) up here on my blog, I begin thinking "I could have written that!"  And then, having fallen into such a self-delusional mood, I proceed more often than not, self-encouraged, to start writing my own poetry again. 

    It has worked for me before.  Here's hoping it works again...

    All in green my love went riding

    All in green went my love riding
    on a great horse of gold
    into the silver dawn.

    four lean hounds crouched low and smiling
    the merry deer ran before.

    Fleeter be they than dappled dreams
    the swift sweet deer
    the red rare deer.

    Four red roebuck at a white water
    the cruel bugle sang before.

    Horn at hip went my love riding
    riding the echo down
    into the silver dawn.

    four lean hounds crouched low and smiling
    the level meadows ran before.

    Softer be they than slippered sleep
    the lean lithe deer
    the fleet flown deer.

    Four fleet does at a gold valley
    the famished arrows sang before.

    Bow at belt went my love riding
    riding the mountain down into the silver dawn.

    four lean hounds crouched low and smiling
    the sheer peaks ran before.

    Paler be they than daunting death
    the sleek slim deer
    the tall tense deer.

    Four tall stags at a green mountain
    the lucky hunter sang before.

    All in green went my love riding
    on a great horse of gold
    into the silver dawn.

    four lean hounds crouched low and smiling
    my heart fell dead before.

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031