January 14, 2003

  • Warrior comments (of mine enhanced )...


     


    I have a vision of a child in Iraq--and I pray  that she knows no war.  But I also have the love of my daughter here in America--and to prevent the tyranny of a war on our own shores that might victimize her, I'd personally, if necessary, wage a pre-emptive, relentless war afar at it's source.  Now is Iraq just such a bubbling source of imminently erupting havoc?  There is the touch point of current controversy...


     


     left upon  a FemmeDeLaCreme blog


     


    I know longer view it as 'dying for my country'.  'Country', in the modern era, has become too fuzzy a geo-politico-economic entity (eg., would you die for the EU? UN? ).  Rather, I'd die, wherever I am, , if necessary, for those I love, wherever they are.


     


    left upon a MelsWorld blog


     


    Regardless of whether your assessment that a *war* against *our very own leaders* is warranted or not, we didn't just imagine 9/11.  Nor are the precise perpetrators of that act *just imagining* similar and even more horrendous acts against us in the days and years ahead.  It would be nice to pretend that if we deposed our own leaders, that all butterflies could go back to wing-flapping peacefully without any impending hurricane concerns.  But such imaginings just don't concur with the reality signatures of this world.  If anyone, Saddam fits the model of Hitlerian excellence and ruthlessness much better than George(WB)--at least for now.  Damn if his expansionist land-grasping during the Persian Gulf War wasn't exactly the fulfillment of the Nazi concept of Lebensraum.

    Yes, I share your concern for the abuse and potential for abuse of power by American leadership.  But seeing a little b(r)ush fire of abuse burning nearby doesn't deter me from also seeing the forest fire of total conflagration about to rage so damn (saddam) out of control down the road.  Yes, I will certainly take a moment to stifle the b(r)ush fire near my house first--to save my own house and prevent a second wildfire.  But having done so, I won't just walk back inside and turn on the news to see updates on the heller-bent fire down the road.  Hell no!   I will, of course, go fight that fire, too.  And because it is more ferocious and potentially dangerous to all, my counter-efforts there will be in kind. 


    No, Saddam, et. al., are not the kind of wildfire that will extinguish themselves if/when  they observe good American householders dousing burning b(r)ush (Bush) in their backyards with pans and pots of water.  And if the flames of their fire are allowed to reach our continent again , all the pots and pans of water in America will become mere clanking symbols of futility in repressing the impending devastation.


     


    left upon a MarcoPolo blog

Comments (592)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories

The End of Days

January 2003
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031